Creamy Lemon & Roasted Garlic Pasta Topped with Crispy Chicken.

 

fullsizeoutput_471

I love to cook. I first started baking at a young age with my mom. She would pull up a chair to the counter for me to stand on while I would mix the boxed brownie batter on a relaxing Sunday afternoon.

As I got older I would watch my Aunt Nadine and my brother, Cody, cook in the kitchen. They would bond over the smells and simple tastes of fresh herbs and spices. 

My brother would begin his career in the kitchen at age 17. He taught me most of what I know and love. He and I continue to create an array of recipes in the kitchen when we get together. Usually I start them and he ends up modifying them so they taste a little much better.

I have been cooking of the fun and joy of it ever since and my palette has grown, I still like to keep things simple.

Mr. Murph stands at the edge of the kitchen and waits while I cook. Waits for the tiniest crumb to fall or.. for me to give him something because his sad dog face is just too cute.

fullsizeoutput_4c

 

This will be my very first recipe I will post and I certainly have many more to come.

For dinner tonight, my boyfriend, Joshua, wanted breaded chicken while I wanted pasta. So, naturally, we compromised. I was inspired by a roasted garlic appetizer served with crisp toasts, goat cheese and roasted red peppers that I had at a local restaurant called Moonshine.

This is my creation.

Roasted Garlic

fullsizeoutput_43

Ingredients:

  • 2 Garlic Heads
  • 2 Tablespoons EVOO (Extra Virgin Olive Oil)
  • Love

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°
  2. Peel loose skins off of garlic and cut the tops off.
  3. Drizzle each top with 1 tablespoon of EVOO. Make sure to rub the oil over the head of the garlic with your fingers to make sure it gets into all of the openings and put some love in there.
  4. Place the garlic on a small square of aluminum foil and crunch the top together, kind of like a Hershey kiss. Be sure to place the garlic tops that are cut off facing up.
  5. Put foil wrapped garlic in the middle oven rack of the pre heated oven.
  6. Roast for 60 minutes for optimal flavor. fullsizeoutput_34

 

Crispy Chicken

fullsizeoutput_4b

Ingredients:

  • 4 Pre cut thin sliced boneless chicken breasts, or 2 whole chicken breasts sliced thinly to your liking
  • Love
  • 1/2 cup plain bread crumbs
  • 1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • 2 eggs

Directions

  1. Take 2 separate shallow dishes. In one dish, whisk your eggs. In the second, place 1/2 cup of grated parmesan cheese and 1/2 cup of plain bread crumbs.
  2. Heat 2 tbsp EVOO in a pan over medium heat.
  3. Dip each piece of chicken in the whisked eggs then place the chicken in the cheese and crumb mixture. Be sure the cover the entire chicken with crumbs and press firmly so they stick to the chicken.
  4. Add love
  5. Place chicken in the heated pan for 4-5 minutes or until golden brown. Flip and repeat.
  6. Place golden crisped chicken on a paper towel lined plate to absorb some of the oils.
  7. In the meantime you will need to prepare the pasta. *See Below*

    fullsizeoutput_41

 

Creamy Lemon & Roasted Garlic Pasta

fullsizeoutput_47

 

Ingredients:

  • 1 LB of angel hair pasta or the pasta of your choice. Cooked al dente, about 7 minutes. (Preferably a long pasta like linguine, spaghetti, or fettuccini. My favorite happens to be angel hair)
  • 2 lemons; Zest and juice 1. Use the second one as garnish.
  • 8 oz  heavy whipping cream
  • 2 bulbs of roasted garlic *See Roasted Garlic recipe*
  • A few shakes of salt and pepper for flavor
  • 2 cups of your favorite fresh vegetable. I chose asparagus and chopped it into 1 & 1/2 inch pieces
  • 1 cup parmesan cheese
  • 1/2 stick of unsalted butter
  • Love

Directions:fullsizeoutput_44

  1. Cook pasta according to packaging. I like to add a teaspoon of EVOO to my water so my pasta doesn’t stick and a few shakes of salt to the water for flavor.
  2. In the same pot that the pasta is cooking, add the vegetables and allow to cook for the same amount of time that the pasta is cooking.
  3. In the same pan that the chicken was cooked, add the butter and let it melt. Turn heat down to low-medium. Add roasted garlic, lemon juice and zest, and heavy whipping cream. Whisk all ingredients together.fullsizeoutput_42
  4. Add love.
  5. Continue whisking until ingredients are mixed well. Add 1/2 cup of parmesan cheese.
  6. Whisk for about 2 minutes or until mixture becomes a little thicker.
  7. Drain pasta and vegetables. Return to pot and add sauce.
  8. Stir until all pasta is saturated with sauce.
  9. Serve Crispy Chicken over a heap of pasta mixture.
  10. Enjoy!

*Serves 4

fullsizeoutput_47

Leave a Reply

